Saturday, June 19, 2010


     The Republic of Indonesia is the largest archipelago in the world, stretches almost 5.000 km from Sabang to Merauke. It lies between two continents, Asia and Australia, and between two oceans, Samudera Indonesia and the Pasific Ocean. The archipelago contains 13.677 islands, thousands of them have no inhabitans. The five main islands are Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, and Irian Jaya Although it's a large country, most of Indonesia is the sea. Its total land area is only 1.900.000 square kilometers and most of it are mountainous.

     There are 15 volcanic mountains in the country. The most popular is Mt. Krakatau which has killed thounsands of people during its eruptions in 1883


Post a Comment